top of page

Biannual Bibliothon Day One

1.What are you planning to read for the Summer Biannual Bibliothon?

In summary, I plan to read 8 books, of which are 1.Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo 2.Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo 3.Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas 4.Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas 5.Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare 6.The Falconer by Elizabeth May 7.Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky 8. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

2.What is your favorite genre to read in Summer?

I don't tend to stick to a specific genre in the summer but obviously, i like a good fluffy contemporary to fly by on a long car trip. Something very Simon vs the homo sapiens agenda-esque. I've also noticed that this summer I've been gravitating more towards LGBTQIA+ and just general diverse books. For example, as of writing this blog post now, i am currently reading the miseducation of Cameron Post, a coming of age novel about a gay/queer/lesbian girl, who has recently been orphaned. So far it has been nothing less than amazing, and I can't wait to get further into it.

3.Where is your favorite place to read in the summer?

Unfortunately, my answer is pretty vanilla, as it stays the same pretty much year round. I usually read in my bed surrounded by bed sheets, a few soft pillows, some snacks, and hopefully my cat.

4.What is your favorite challenge done in the Summer Biannual Bibliothon?

I've never participated in the biannual bibliothon before but a challenge I think would be really fun to make would be a one done last year called "message in a bottle" in which you write a letter to a fictional character. I think a lot of us bookworms or just fictional fangirls in general dream of meeting our favorite characters, and what we would say if we did, and this challenge allows us to kind of do that :)

5.What fictional character would you hang out in the summer if you could?

I'm going to go with my go to, the main character of my favorite series of all time, Perseus Jackson of the Percy Jackson series. I feel like not only does he have magical water powers which are summary af, but I might get the whole package deal, meaning I would get to see Annabeth and maybe even get to go to Camp Half Blood. I would probably have to give up my phone for a while (monster magnet 😬) but it would all be worth it. Also hanging with Percy guarantees lots of blue food, which I, like most everyone else, am a huge fan of.

6.What are your plans for summer?

Being that I am pretty socially awkward and antisocial, most of my plans involve Netflix, reading a shit ton of books, and dancing around obnoxiously awkward to my faves ie.Halsey, the 1975, the neighbourhood, and some obscure band because I'm hipster Tumblr trash (Coachella vibezz 👅✌🏼)

7.Do you have summer reading playlist, If not what would be on it?

I don't really have a playlist dedicated specifically to reading and summer, but if you want a summery song I recommend West Coast by The Neighbourhood or Rearview by Bad Suns.I mostly just listen to my monthly playlist on Spotify and try to focus on the book. But it mostly consists of mostly Bad Suns, the Neighbourhood, and COIN's new album. If you wanna take a listen the link will be here

8.What is your favorite summer movie?

Honestly, this is basically my favorite movie all year round but there's nothing like a classic chick lit such as Mean Girls during a boring day of vacation. It's also a perfect movie for a sleepover or a long car ride, which of course are classic staples of summer.

9.What book do you read every summer, if not what thing do you do every summer?

I don't really have a book I read every summer, but every summer my family goes on at least one trip out of our hometown. I also do the classic "sit around and do nothing productive but watch tons of Netflix"thing that students do during the summer.

10.What other book tags are you planning to do this summer?

After the Biannual bibliothon, I plan to do a couple of tags but especially the mid year book freak out tag and maybe a hopefully original tag I've been developing.

bottom of page